The First Chip on My Shoulder

I remember as a kid living in Redfern slums of 1960’s, the first time we rode our bikes (made from parts in the tip) to the Cathedral near Victoria Park. We rode past the nuts & bolts warehouse on Cleveland St where we got our big brass nuts to file down to rings for our fingers. We didn’t use them always but they were cheap DIY knuckle dusters. Up the hill and into Victoria Park.

The old sandstone buildings were Cathedrals with my 12 year old perception. We talked about it, me, Nikos, Spiro and Raymond – our aboriginal mate whose parents owned the only TV in our block. We decided that if it was a Cathedral it had to be Church of England. Our Orthodox churches were smaller. It was years later that I realised it was Sydney University. I had no idea what a university was. My parents and I migrated from a Greek village to Australia when I was 4. You could say we were agrarian peasants catapulted to the Industrial Age where my father’s first job was at Port Kembla Steelworks.

The first time I attended a party on Orientation Week at Sydney Uni I sat with some guys who were all raving about Kings Rowing. I had no idea what they were talking about. So I asked, “What’s King Rowing?”. Boy, did that stop the conversation. They all looked at me as if I had two heads, then one of them said, “What?” and shook his head. I said, “Well, is there Queens Rowing?” That didn’t go down well either.

A guy with red hair said, “Are you on a Commonwealth Scholarship?”

I was proud of that, so I said yes.

Then someone else asked, “Do you get a living allowance?”I said, “Yep – full independent allowance,” again feeling proud of my  achievement.There was silence, they looked at each other and one blurted, “So, you’re poor!”

They all laughed and turned away from me. I think that was when I got a chip on my shoulder about private school graduates who row boats with gold rings on their fingers.

English: Inside the Great Hall at the Universi...

English: Inside the Great Hall at the University of Sydney (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

2 Responses to The First Chip on My Shoulder

  1. PPMJ says:

    Oh Stavros, I hope this is correct – I got a good feeling reading it! Then I felt so horribly sad reading your story about uni. How awful that two things that you felt so proud of were turned around by those who, through a quirk of birth, felt themselves above you.

    Linda

    • stavr0s says:

      Well, I got my revenge on those tory private school idiots – I graduated with honours & have a happy life. I’ve worked in education both as High School Teacher and mostly as coordinator/manager of multicultural education in TAFE helping refugees and migrants. It has always been that those who have most because of quirk of birth feel superior to those who don’t. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a comment